Tasty Tips

Maybe you weren’t so lucky to see my speedy marinara the other day? If not, you should go look! I have a couple little speedy tricks/ideas that aren’t really recipes on their own, so I thought I’d just make one post for all.

1. As told about in my speedy marinara post, adding baking soda to a marinara sauce sweetens it. This is an easy way to not add sugar, but still take the sharp, vinegar flavor out of the tomatoes.

2. I love lemonade, especially in the summer. I make mine with fresh squeezed lemons and sweeten with agave, mmm! What I don’t like, however, is how sour it can be. A trick someone told me a long time ago is to add sweet basil (otherwise known as basil) to the agave and lemon mixture before adding water. The basil takes some of the sharpness out of the lemon, but still leaves a great lemon flavor. I’ve played with other types of basil (thai and mint basils), and other herbs. They are a great way to spice up lemonade without adding fruit or more sweetner.

3. Caprese is one of my favorite meals! It’s a wonderful, fresh, summertime salad. However, many people are hesitant due to the calories in mozzarella, or they don’t eat cheese due to dietary restrictions. I love caprese so much though, I want everyone to be able to enjoy! Thus, my Mom (so proud of her) came up with a great subsitute- avocado! The flavors blend excellent and it’s a great healthy fat.

I hope you enjoy these tasty tips!

Do you have a magical substitute or tip to make a common recipe different? Share it!

Leave a Reply

