WIAW – with Vacation!


 

It’s finally hump day! This has been a long week after my great weekend with J! I had my first Maryland blue crab fest, and it was excellent! I loved it so much.

I promise we had more than crab! See- coleslaw, soup, potato salad, and beer (cider for some of us). What could be better?

There was so much crab left over that we picked the rest of the meat and J’s dad made us crab cakes the next night. Because J’s sister and I require gluten and yeast free, these crab cakes were…crab! What an amazing concept, huh?! They were awesome with just a bit of cornmeal to bind them.

Vacation has been so wonderful, now I have to get back into work though and make my own meals. Guess I forgot to say above, J’s dad makes the most amazing cappuccinos and eggs (coddled, they’re amazing) every morning. I wasn’t quite sure what to do with myself on Monday when breakfast wasn’t made for me. J’s parents are the best! So to make up for having to make my own breakfast, I’ve been enjoying overnight oats. Flavor:  chocolate and strawberries. You should try them, they’re healthy!!! (This has been my snack food too, I seriously have been eating on average three jars a day!)

Which is good because I’m eating it all the time, even for dessert! I’ve been pairing oats with lots of fun juices for my juicing challenge. Lately, I’ve been on a peach kick, with carrots and or kale.

For lunch today I had some wonderful sautéed bok choy with a ginger, soy sauce marinade and crunch sliced almonds. Stay tuned, recipe coming soon!

 And for dinner, what could be better than a spicy thai curry? Just to kick things up a notch! This simple red curry with squash and mushrooms was not only tasty, but filling and great as a quick, light dinner in the summer. This makes the second recipe I owe you, promise it will be up by the end of the day!

It has been difficult adjusting back to normal life haha! But as you can see, I’ve been treating myself with great food! Two recipes to be published today, so wait and see! Thursday will be a big post with exciting news for cragsandveggies, make sure you stop by to hear what it is!

Do you have vacation blues when you come back to real life?

5 responses to “WIAW – with Vacation!

  1. I love Maryland blue crab. I have not any it for years. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. I guess I must be sleepy!! I meant to say I have not had blue crab for a long time. :-0

  3. The crab looks fantastic…what a treat!

  4. I always hate coming back from vacation – it takes a day or two for me to get rid of the blues.

Leave a Reply

