Savory Breakfast

I loved the surprise trip that J gave me for my birthday, it was a much needed break! Traveling is one of my passions! I absolutely love seeing the world. The one thing I hate about traveling though, packing! Okay, unpacking is just as bad.

This trip was unfortunately no different. J and I rushed to pack everything the night before, in addition to last minute laundry and cleaning. Nonetheless, we needed something for dinner that was fast. Breakfast made the most since because it used up our milk and eggs and took less than 10 minutes.

We love adding herbs in our eggs. If it’s in your spice cabinet, there’s a chance we’ve tried it with eggs! This was a simple mixture of basil, oregano, and thyme. We love adding red pepper flakes (see below) and hot sauce!

The real trick to the meal though is biscuits and gravy! I love biscuits and gravy. They are warm, moist, salty, creamy, and melt in your mouth. However, I don’t eat sausage and try to stay away from processed “artifical meats”. Thus, I really missed biscuits and gravy till I got the idea for this recipe.

Biscuits and Gravy (servings for 4)

  • 1/4 cup of unbleached flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter (or healthy substitute! I have a butter made with some olive oil to reduce the fat that I got from my local heatlh store)
  • Herbs of your choice (to go with the eggs, I chose basil and thyme. Amount depends on your choice, but you can always add more! I usually start with a total of 2-3 tsp)
  • Black pepper and salt to taste

This recipe is all about balance so you might have to add more or less of something. Especially depending on the fat content of your milk.

First, melt the butter on medium in a pan with the herbs. Add a few tablespoons of flour in once the butter is melting and cook till a roux is made, or when your flour starts to have a nice brown color. Slowly add the rest of your milk and flour in small alternating portions. Stir a few minutes until completely combined. Keep stirring until the mixture starts to boil. At this point, you will notice the mixture is to the thickness of a “gravy”. Depending on your preference, you can thin it with milk or thicken with flour to obtain your desired thickness. Feel free to add more herbs after tasting. Some of our favorite variations of the herbs include rosemary and thyme, fresh thai basil, and oregano and red pepper flakes). Add cracked pepper and salt to your desired taste. J and I don’t eat a lot of salt so I usually just add a dash of cracked multi-color peppercorns at the end.

This is an extremely simple recipe, but fulfills cravings for biscuits and gravy. While we would normally make our own biscuits, we complimented our gravy with some store bought biscuits.

Leave a Reply

