What I Ate Wednesday!

WOW, is it already Wednesday?


The last week has been crazy with work commitments and personal commitments so I haven’t had a non-cereal breakfast. While I’m normally not a cereal person, I have to say, I have found one brand that I love and that’s Mom’s Best! They have a version of the most common cereals and they’re free of artificial colors, flavorings, and weird preservatives.

Yep, toasty O’s and juice have been my mornings lately. But I have since found a new amazing juice! Grape juice! Yes, for my juicing challengeΒ I have been making homemade grape juice from red grapes!

The only bad thing about this juice is that for a whole bag of grapes, that’s all you get! It’s pretty strong though, so I could add water for more volume if I wanted to. I absolutely love it though! So glad grapes are on sale at my local grocery store or I’d go broke because I’ve been drinking two of these a day!

For lunch today I had a true “southern” meal of some things my grandmother brought to me this past weekend including pinto beans, okra salad, and corn bread. I’m working on a post coming soon on making a traditional southern meal like this healthier! The okra salad is already amazingly healthy (okra, zucchini, tomatoes, and vinegar based) and with some tweaking, the cornbread is coming along. The beans are full of flavors and spices and so easy to prepare! I’m so excited to share this post with you!!

For dinner I had Aloo Gobi! If you’ve never had it, it’s pretty much the gateway to Indian food. It’s definitely one of my favorites! It’s based on onions, potatoes, and cauliflower and is made up similar to a stir fry dish. This post is coming tomorrow (Posted now, click here!!!). I promise you that you will love this dish! Even if you’ve never had Indian food before, this dish is easy to make and easy to love! It’s spiced well in flavor, not heat so no need to worry about it being too spicy.

And since this month is all about sensible snacking, I’ve been snacking on chocolate quinoa! Yes, chocolate and toasted quinoa. It’s wonderful and healthy. How did I ever go without this healthy snack?

What have you been eating lately?Β 

15 responses to “What I Ate Wednesday!

  1. I LOVE Indian food! I can’t wait for the recipe. I have always just had Amy’s Indian dinners. Love your chocolate! I always say that a day is not complete with at least some chocolate ;).

  2. Yum chocolate quinoa sounds delicious! Did you make it?

  3. Everything sounds delicious especially the okra salad. I’ve sadly never had Indian food, but that looks tasty!

  4. great eats! especially that chocolate quinoa, sounds awesome!

  5. Chocolate and quinoa sounds interesting! At the moment I am all about oats. Oats for breakfast, yoghurt and muesli aka oats and nuts for lunch… You get my drift πŸ™‚ great post.. I love seeing what other Foodies eat!

  6. Mmmm, Southern food, Indian food, and chocolate sounds like a great day of eats to me!

  7. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes

    Such cultural meals! πŸ™‚

  8. I just bought a juicer a couple of weeks ago and I made it one of my goals this month to juice every other day, but I’m having so much fun with it that I think it will quickly become an EVERY day thing. It’s so fun to just throw a combo of fruits and veggies in and surprise yourself with what comes out…sometimes not so pleasant surprises (note to self: pair kale with a fruit or prepare yourself for a glass of yard clippings)!

    That okra salad sounds fantastic! I LOVE to eat okra raw (weird I know…but just try it sometime dipped in your favorite mustard or hummus…so good!) and my boyfriend just recently turned me on to the pickled variety. πŸ™‚

    Heading over RIGHT NOW to check out that Indian dish recipe! Looks incredible!

  9. I openend my cabinet today and totally found that cereal sitting in there! I have no idea where it came from but I guess my mom is catching on πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

