Broccoli goes Jiaozi (potsticker)

As I opened up my CSA box yesterday, two thinks peaked out at me. Broccoli and cauliflower. These two babies have shown up lots this year already. I like cauliflower when cooked, especially in Indian dishes. But when it comes to broccoli? Well, I’ll eat it covered in cheese or ranch dressing- neither of which are particularly healthy for me when you take into account the quantity. So I thought, and I thought, what could I do with broccoli that would make it yummy and exciting? And then it came to me, I love potstickers! They’re so much fun to eat and are easy and cheap to make. Done…broccoli potstickers. (Jiaozi, is the traditional word for chinese potsticker.)

These little guys are tasty and easy to make! Since I only had one small broccoli, I also used my veronica cauliflower in my CSA. You could use one large broccoli or one large cauliflower if you wanted to. Add an onion, pepper, some sunflower oil, and potsticker wrappers and done….meal achieved.

No seriously, that’s all it takes to make these babies!

Broccoli Cauliflower Potstickers

Servings: 5

  • 1 small broccoli
  • 1 small cauliflower
  • 1 medium Serrano green chile 
  • 3 teaspoon(s) sunflower oil
  • 1 small onion, sweet
  • 1 small wonton wrapper
Directions:
Wash and cut broccoli and cauliflower into flourets. Steam until tender.
Carefully remove the seeds from the serrano chilie and disgard. Chop the chilie finely into small pieces. Over medium heat, add 1 teaspon of sunflower oil and cook the onion and chilie until the onion is slightly browned and clear.
Place steamed broccoli/cauliflower and onion mixture in food processor or blender. Add one teaspoon sunflower oil and process until mixture is homogenous and finely chopped.
Place small teaspoons of mixture on the center of wonton wrappers. Wipe water around square edges and fold over into a triangle shape. Push into base of triangle to make the wonton “pinch” shape. (You can do whatever shape you want, I just choose this one because it usually keeps all the goody inside.)
Heat the last teaspoon of sunflower oil over medium high heat and drop wontons in to brown. Flip wontons regularly to make sure a light brown color appears on most sides. When all wonton sides are lightly crisped, add a spash of water. I do it by eye sight, but around 1/8 a cup. Cover the wontons for one minute with a lid and then remove. If you added too much water by accident, don’t worry as you can allow the water to steam off.
Remove wontons from pan when most of the water has steamed away and let cool.
I enjoy with some light sodium soy sauce. The choice of dipping sauce is completely up to you though! ENJOY!

page1image16240

page1image16776
Nutrition Facts (per serving, these might be slightly off due to my program not understanding wonton wrappers)
Calories 91
Total Fat (g) 3.14
Saturated Fat (g) 0.24
Cholesterol (mg) 1
Sodium (mg) 41
Total Carbohydrates (g) 11.17 
 
 
7 responses to “Broccoli goes Jiaozi (potsticker)

  1. What a creative idea! Funny, because I LOVE broccoli but when it comes to cauliflower, I am usually looking for new and inventive ways to get it in my belly.

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add your link. http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/14/whats-in-the-box-30/. Hope to see you there!

  2. Looks yum! And not too complicated either. Thanks for sharing :)

  3. This looks DELICIOUS. Can’t wait to make my own batch (though my produce likely won’t be as fresh lookin’ as yours). Yum!

Leave a Reply

