Mama Mia’ Orzo

I love Italian food! Seriously, I eat at least two meals of pasta every week. Thus, I can’t just eat marinara sauce and spaghetti noodles. I like to spice up my Italian food and make it robust and full of color!

I have no clue why spaghetti and penne are so popular in the US. There are so many different shapes of pasta to have fun with! One of my favorites is orzo. I think I like it so much because it’s a cross between pasta and rice. Okay, not really. But it’s shaped like rice and is pasta, what could be better? As a veggie girl, I have to make sure I get lots of grains- usually being rice or pasta. So orzo has to be the grain for me!

I also love that you can eat orzo hot or cold. It’s perfect for making pasta salads. This dish, not only is full of color, is great for eating as a cold summer picnic lunch.

Remember to pull apart your basil instead of cutting or chopping it into pieces. This allows the flavor to gain more depth and strength.

Vibrant Summer Orzo

  • 4 serving orzo cooked as directed by packaging
  • 2 Tbs olive oil (or butter if desired)
  • 1 Tbs minced garlic
  • 3 Tbs capers
  • 1 Tbs caper juice
  • 1/4 cup chopped sun dried tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 15oz can diced tomatoes
  • Handful of freshly cut and pulled basil
Heat up the olive oil and garlic in a pan on medium heat. When garlic begins to brown, add capers, caper juice, sun dried tomatoes, and raisins to oil and stir. Once mixed, add the white wine. Turn down to medium low and let white wine cook off. Once boiling add the diced tomatoes. I find it best to drain the tomatoes (different than rinsing!). Cook for another minute to allow the tomatoes to warm up. Sprinkle pan with basil and stir. Pour mixture over cooked orzo and toss lightly. 
This makes a really great and healthy lunch! Or dinner with a glass of white wine
One response to “Mama Mia’ Orzo

  1. Ooh the raisins sound great in this!

Leave a Reply

