Summer Oatmeal

It’s hot here, I mean really hot!

All the plants are feeling it! The poor little hydrangea looks like it’s been run over and I watered it this morning before I left for work. Even the herbs look tired and they’ll last through anything.

A warm breakfast just isn’t doing the trick these mornings. I love oatmeal though, it keeps me full, is a whole grain, can be flavored so many different ways, and is fairly cheap. So what’s a girl to do? Summer Oatmeal Muffins of course!

Yum! Look at all the oatmeal texture and color from the blueberries!

The best part is, these can be made up in little time and a whole batch will last at least for a few days! Did I mention, these are healthy and contain NO OIL! And unlike most oil free muffins, these don’t call for 20 different ingredients!

Summer Oatmeal

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup pressed oats, not instant
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • fruits/chocolate chips/spices to customize (I used 1 cup blueberries and 1/4 cup dried, unsweetened coconut)
First, preheat oven to 350F. Then, place the oats and milk in a bowl, allowing the oats to slowly soak up some of the moisture.

In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, egg, applesauce, baking powder, sugar, and salt and mix. When mixed, add the oats and milk mixture slowly until completely mixed in. At this point you can add any spices, fruits, chocolate chips, candy, and syrups you like. I love blueberries so I tossed them in dried coconut flakes and added them to the mixture.
I used a non-stick muffin pan without spray, however if you are worried about yours sticking, feel free to use a light spray. I like mini muffins so I placed mine in the oven at 350F for 10 minutes. If you like traditional size muffins, bake at 350 for 15-17 minutes. Let the muffins cool before you remove them from the pan.
I took a plate outside to enjoy while I watered the flowers in hope that they will perk up after seeing these delicious muffins!
4 responses to “Summer Oatmeal

  1. This looks delicious! Have you tried bircher muesli? It’s basically oats soaked overnight with milk/yogurt and then you add your choice of toppings in the morning (fresh fruit/nuts/raisins)…it’s my favorite summer breakfast as it’s refreshing yet filling!

  2. I LOVE muffins!!! How amazing do these look?! OMG!

    Thank you for the amazingness today!

    xxoo
    http://www.iheartwellness.com

Leave a Reply

